Nintendo 3DS Forums
Go Back   Nintendo 3DS Forums > Gaming > Nintendo 3DS > Questions & Answers

Questions & Answers Having technical issues with your Nintendo 3DS? Confused about a particular feature? Get your questions answered here!

[Answered] I need SD card help...
Old 11-11-2012, 04:36 AM
Boba2007's Avatar
Hero of Thyme
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,077
Default I need SD card help...

Been searching all over the internet for a couple hours and haven't found any help. I'm trying to get my 3DS files from my old 2GB SD card copied over to my new 32GB SDHC card in preparation for Sticker Star. The problem is, when i'm copying the files over to the 32GB card, it just instantly disconnects the card and says "The destination you specified does not exist." As a note, the 2GB SD card worked completely fine.

Does anyone have any idea on what to do? I'm starting to lose hope.

Last edited by Boba2007; 11-11-2012 at 05:24 AM.
Old 11-11-2012, 04:43 AM
BMO's Avatar
BMO BMO is offline
Persona 5 never
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,469
Default

If that way isn't working another thing you can do is to insert your new SD card into the 3DS FIRST, which will cause the 3DS to initialize OS data onto the SD card (in other words, it creates the "Nintendo 3DS" folder)

do that then:
Spoiler!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 11-11-2012, 04:49 AM
Boba2007's Avatar
Hero of Thyme
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMO View Post
If that way isn't working another thing you can do is to insert your new SD card into the 3DS FIRST, which will cause the 3DS to initialize OS data onto the SD card (in other words, it creates the "Nintendo 3DS" folder)

do that then:
Spoiler!
Did that, didn't work. It makes the 3DS folder fine but I still can't copy the files over.
Old 11-11-2012, 04:54 AM
BMO's Avatar
BMO BMO is offline
Persona 5 never
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,469
Default

maybe it's the slot you entered the SD Card in that's not working, have you tried another slot?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 11-11-2012, 04:56 AM
Boba2007's Avatar
Hero of Thyme
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMO View Post
maybe it's the slot you entered the SD Card in that's not working, have you tried another slot?
I only have one slot. And the 2GB card worked fine.
Old 11-11-2012, 05:01 AM
BMO's Avatar
BMO BMO is offline
Persona 5 never
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,469
Default

can you see the SD card in then"Computer" section of your laptop/desktop?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 11-11-2012, 05:09 AM
Boba2007's Avatar
Hero of Thyme
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMO View Post
can you see the SD card in then"Computer" section of your laptop/desktop?
Yes, but when I try to copy something to the card it disappears for a second and reappears. This is how I know it's being disconnected.

I emailed Transcend support, so I'm not sure what I'm going to do until I get a response.


old question
Spoiler!


Actually I change my question, will NSMB2 and PM both fit on a 2GB SD card?


Last edited by Boba2007; 11-11-2012 at 05:09 AM.
Old 11-11-2012, 05:13 AM
BMO's Avatar
BMO BMO is offline
Persona 5 never
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,469
Default

something could be wrong with the SD card then.
I'm not sure about NSMB2 but if you go check the Data Management section you can see if the data saves in the Extra Data section.

PM:SS is 4,199 blocks which is equivalent to about 512MB.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 11-11-2012, 05:20 AM
Boba2007's Avatar
Hero of Thyme
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMO View Post
something could be wrong with the SD card then.
I'm not sure about NSMB2 but if you go check the Data Management section you can see if the data saves in the Extra Data section.

PM:SS is 4,199 blocks which is equivalent to about 512MB.
Thanks, so it looks like both would be a little less than a Gigabyte, which makes me happy. If I delete my music and pictures off the SD then I should have room.

...

Wow, I had no idea I had 812 MB of music on here.
Old 11-11-2012, 05:25 AM
BMO's Avatar
BMO BMO is offline
Persona 5 never
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,469
Default

scratch that it is equivalent to about 552MB.

sorry about that. but you'll have plenty of space for if you delete that music.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 11-11-2012, 06:24 AM
Huntsman06's Avatar
Cosmic Destruction
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: inside 4 walls, and a ceiling.
Posts: 748
Default

Boba2007, you could try putting it in your 3ds before hand, it might let you format it. You'd probably need to do this anyway before putting anything on it manually. And if you've done it already, you can always try again.
__________________
3DS XL FC: 3179 - 7400 - 7105
The Original Dark - Umbreon