Nintendo 3DS Forums
Go Back   Nintendo 3DS Forums > Gaming > Nintendo 3DS > Questions & Answers

Questions & Answers Having technical issues with your Nintendo 3DS? Confused about a particular feature? Get your questions answered here!

SD problem loading games.
Old 12-26-2013, 09:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default

1st, I'm sorry if this is not the right place to post this. I was wondering if I should post this on "game" section, but I believe that's more of a SD problem than Pokemon's.
___

So I've decided to backup my game files of Pokemon XY today and inserted my SD on pc so I could copy files.
While I was tranferring the files to PC, my SD card started to bug: for some reason the transfer was interrupted and I had to start over twice i think. After that I had to format my SD card because it was still giving me an error message. After the format I've then transferred back the files to my SD card and tried to load my game.

As soon as I start my Pokemon X I see a black screen with the messenge:
"Houve um erro. Aperte e segure o bot?o POWER at? desligar e tente outra vez.
Para assist?ncia t?cnica, visite o site support.nintendo.com."

Which means:
"There was a error. Hold the POWER button until the system turns off and try again.
For Support, visit support.nintendo.com"

And that's it. Nothing ever happens before.

I NEED help, because I really don't know how I can fix this. Right now I'm afraid of try anything by my own and finish messing this up.

I'm kind of a competitive player, so I'm about to lose dozens of hundred hours and some really nice pok?s here. Please help!

Added after 3 minutes:

Oh, I forgot to say:

I've searched for some similar problem, but I didn't found it in here. I guess this is a very particular problem, so I've decided to create my own topic since that's not a random not-loading SD card issue...

Last edited by thales_lima; 12-26-2013 at 09:16 PM.
Old 12-27-2013, 12:54 AM
DarkK's Avatar
Ex-Pony Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,427
Default

If the transfer was interrupted (twice), it's very likely that the files got corrupted.

Some games, like Animal Crossing, don't allow you to move the SD card data of the game to a PC, then re-transfer it to said SD card after you erased it. Pokemon might be one of those games.

It could also be the SD card itself, as you said it bugged out (twice). Try using a different SD card as well.
__________________
Nintendo ID (Wii U): DarkKRPG
Nintendo ID (3DS): DarkK2
Old 12-27-2013, 03:48 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkK View Post
If the transfer was interrupted (twice), it's very likely that the files got corrupted.

Some games, like Animal Crossing, don't allow you to move the SD card data of the game to a PC, then re-transfer it to said SD card after you erased it. Pokemon might be one of those games.

It could also be the SD card itself, as you said it bugged out (twice). Try using a different SD card as well.
Thanks!

So, IF the game does not allow me to move files in, what should I do? I mean, is there ANY way to get the save back? Even non-conventional methods...?

I'll get myself a new SD card tomorrow, try it out and post here.
Old 12-27-2013, 10:36 AM
DarkK's Avatar
Ex-Pony Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thales_lima View Post
Thanks!

So, IF the game does not allow me to move files in, what should I do? I mean, is there ANY way to get the save back? Even non-conventional methods...?

I'll get myself a new SD card tomorrow, try it out and post here.
Not sure. Someone here moved their data of Animal Crossing to the PC, and when tried to get it back, the game said that his village data was corrupted and had to start the game all over. Might be the same deal with Pokemon, or it might be the SD card.
__________________
Nintendo ID (Wii U): DarkKRPG
Nintendo ID (3DS): DarkK2
Old 12-30-2013, 01:30 AM
3DSvideos's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 228
Default

BTW OP, how big is the SD card in your 3DS?

Make sure you have a SD Card reader that is compatible with the size of the card. For instance, if the SD card is a 32GB card and the reader doesn't support cards that big, you will get error messages and the card can become corrupted.

I was using a SD card reader that only supported cards up to 16GB and it corrupted my 32GB card. I had to buy a SD Card reader that would support bigger cards. Problem solved.
__________________
Download videos that have been converted to run on your 3DS. Visit my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for info.
Old 01-03-2014, 05:00 AM
dissembled's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DSvideos View Post
BTW OP, how big is the SD card in your 3DS?

Make sure you have a SD Card reader that is compatible with the size of the card. For instance, if the SD card is a 32GB card and the reader doesn't support cards that big, you will get error messages and the card can become corrupted.

I was using a SD card reader that only supported cards up to 16GB and it corrupted my 32GB card. I had to buy a SD Card reader that would support bigger cards. Problem solved.
I did not know this. Thanks.
Old 01-06-2014, 01:23 AM
3DSvideos's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dissembled View Post
I did not know this. Thanks.
Yep. And I had to learn that the hard way.

I lost everything on that 32GB SD card because I thought my old SD card reader would read a card that size. It didn't.

I lost photos, game saves and everything saved to the SD card. I was able re-download all my digital games. But had to beat them all over again.

Since then, I back-up everything on the SD card on my PC. That way, if the SD card gets corrupted again, I don't have to lose everything again.
__________________
Download videos that have been converted to run on your 3DS. Visit my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for info.
Old 01-10-2014, 03:46 PM
dcv1979's Avatar
Super Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,256
Default

the SD card might be the problem which in turn made your
saved games corrupted
__________________
Spoof!