Nintendo 3DS Forums
Go Back   Nintendo 3DS Forums > Gaming > Nintendo 3DS

Nintendo 3DS Chat about our beloved handheld as much as your typing fingers will allow.

When is it safe to change cartridges?
Old 05-14-2014, 04:00 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
Default When is it safe to change cartridges?

Is it safe on the Home screen, or in standby mode? Both? Neither?

Thanks!
Old 05-14-2014, 04:02 AM
Kinvara's Avatar
Aquatic Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Inkopolis
Posts: 10,562
Default

It's safe to do it at the home screen but make sure the software has been closed out completely.
Old 05-14-2014, 07:05 AM
grahamf's Avatar
Happiness Fairy
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 102
Default

yeah, if the game is in the background of the home screen its merely paused.
Old 05-14-2014, 10:51 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I always shut it down completely, before I remove it.
Old 05-18-2014, 08:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 1,072
Default

As long as the game on the cartridge isn't active.
Old 05-18-2014, 11:41 PM
Beldomsey's Avatar
Is allergic to the sun...
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heh... HEHEHEHHEEHHEE! (Translation: Some asylum).
Posts: 1,512
Default

The only thing you have to worry about, is that if the actual cartridge that you currently have in it is on or operating in some way, THEN you don't want to change it. It's perfectly fine if you change it when it's not functioning at all.
__________________
Check this out:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 05-19-2014, 02:09 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks guys. I assume "on" or "active" simply means if the software is still shown paused on the upper screen? Nothing other than that?
Old 05-19-2014, 01:28 PM
Beldomsey's Avatar
Is allergic to the sun...
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heh... HEHEHEHHEEHHEE! (Translation: Some asylum).
Posts: 1,512
Default

Yup, that's what we mean. It's when you're in the home menu, and it's paused.
__________________
Check this out:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 50 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.