Nintendo 3DS Forums
Go Back   Nintendo 3DS Forums > Gaming > Nintendo 3DS > Questions & Answers

Questions & Answers Having technical issues with your Nintendo 3DS? Confused about a particular feature? Get your questions answered here!

[Answered] Changing 3DS region
Old 07-17-2014, 05:38 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default Changing 3DS region

Hi people, i have a couple questions. A friend of mine got me a $20 eshop card from Canada and my 3ds' region is in the US. I currently have $0.03 on my eshop so i wouldn't mind losing the money, but if i change my region to Canada would i still be able to access the eshop and would i lose my downloaded games?

Last edited by leoz96; 07-18-2014 at 03:45 AM.
Old 07-17-2014, 07:11 PM
kipd's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: And u care because ?
Posts: 127
Default

im pretty sure you cant change the region on your 3ds maybe im wrong ? but i dont think you can change it so i dont think you can use that card maybe you can google it or phone tech support at nintendo
Old 07-17-2014, 10:39 PM
Alexei_Robles's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Default

You can't change the region of your 3DS because the Nintendo ID doesn't allow you to enter a eshop from another country
Old 07-18-2014, 03:45 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

ok thanks guys